Executive Committee

Functions of the Executive Committee

The Committee is composed of the Chief Executives of only Member Electricity Supply Enterprises who generate wholesale and retail power to end-user customers. A country with more than one utility meeting these requirements is required to designate one utility to represent it on the Executive Committee. The Executive Committee acts as the Board of SAPP and shall be the authority governing the coordination and formulating the objectives of the SAPP. The Committee has a chairperson who holds office for a period of at least one year, but not more than three years. The chairmanship rotates among the Members who are signatories of the Agreement Between Operating Members (ABOM). The duties of the committee include the following.

  1. The Committee specifies and amends from time to time the duties of the Management Committee, the Sub-Committees and any Working Group or Task Force, which may be established.

  2. The Committee shall decide within sixty (60) days on any matter referred to it by a Member(s) or by the Management Committee, including the exclusion of a Member(s).

  3. Upon the approval of the SADC Energy Ministers, The Committee will accept new Members into the SAPP according to the conditions of membership.

  4. Grants observer status to Electricity Supply Enterprises, which may apply upon the approval of the SADC Energy Ministers. The granting of Observer Status allows the Electricity Supply Enterprise to attend meetings and participate, but have no voting rights in any of the committees or sub-committees.

  5. Each member represented at the Executive Committee arranges and finances the participation of its own representative(s) in the various committees, task forces and sub-committees.

  6. Each member has one vote of the Executive Committee and only Members who are signatories of the Agreement Between Operating Members can vote on Service and Operational issues.

  7. Decisions will be made by consensus or, failing this, by a two-thirds majority of the Members present at the meeting, unless otherwise stated in the Memorandum of Understanding. The presence of two thirds of the Members at a meeting constitutes a quorum.

  8. Decisions made by the Committee are binding on all members, including those who did not attend the meeting.

  9. In case of a dispute between Operating Members, the matter will be referred for Arbitration in accordance with the Agreement of Members unless the Members agree upon another procedure.

Executive Committee

EXCO Chairperson
Victor B Mapani
EXCO Chairperson